FG warns newly appointed education chief executives against impunity

• Gives them 4 weeks to come up with action plan

THE Federal Government has warned the newly appointed 17 Chief Executive Officers who are to oversee various parastatals and agencies under the Federal Ministry against impunity and financial recklessness in their organisations.

Speaking at the maiden meeting with the appointees on Tuesday, in Abuja, the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, urged them to work in line with the change mantra of President Muhammadu Buhari and also gave them one month within which they should come up with action plan on how to revive the ailing education sector as it affects their various agencies.

The new Registrar, National Examinations Council (NECO), Professor Charles Uwakwe, speaking with Nigerian Tribune said that the minister was very clear on what was expected from the new chief executive.

He said: “The minister was very clear on what our task and mandates are. The President insisted that we must ensure that the change mantra is carried through in our various organisations.”

He added that, “We have been given about a month to acclimatise and do an assessment and then come up with an action plan for the next for years and we have pledged that we would do our best.

The new appointees who were present at the meeting are: Professor Abubakar Rasheed (National Universities Commission); Professor Lilian Salami (Nigerian Institute For Educational Planning and Administration); Dr Hameed Boboyi (Universal Basic Education Board); Professor Lanre Aina (National Library of Nigeria); Prof. Charles Uwakwe (National Examinations Council); Professor Abba Haladu (National Commission For Mass Literacy, Adult And Non-Formal Education); Prof.essor Bashir Usman (Nomadic Education Commission); and Professor Ifeoma Isiugo-Abanihe (National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB).

Others are Professor Sunday Ajiboye (Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria); Afolabi Aderinto (Computer Registration Council of Nigeria); Professor Bappah Aliyu (National Commission for Colleges of Education); Dr Abdullahi Bichi Baffa (Tertiary Education Tax Fund); Professor Garba Dahuwa Azare (National Teachers Institute); and Professor Michael Afolabi (Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria).