Election to hold in 33 LGs, 35 LCDAs —OYSIEC

Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), on Thursday, declared that elections into both the newly created 35 local council development areas and 33 local government areas will hold on February 11, 2017.

The inclusion of election into the LCDAs is a modification to an earlier announcement by the commission which indicated that election would only be conducted into the 33 local government areas.

Contained in a statement by the electoral commission’s media officer, Mr Cosmas Oni, the Chairman, OYSIEC, Mr Olajide Ajeigbe, was quoted as making this declaration during his visit to the Headquarters, 2 Division of the Nigeria Army, Odogbo, Ibadan and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Oyo State Command.

Ajeigbe had noted that the visits to all the security agencies in the state were to ensure adequate security before, during and after the election.

Ajeigbe added that for the commission to achieve free and fair election, it was imperative to beef up security.

In their separate remarks, the General Officer Commanding (GOC) Headquarters 2 Division of the Nigeria Army, Major General Kasumu Abudulkarim and the Commandant of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Commandant John Adewole, had pledged their agencies commitment towards providing conducive environment for the conduct of a violence-free election.